About

The Newborn Screening Technical assistance and Evaluation Program (NewSTEPs) is a national newborn screening resource center designed to provide data, technical assistance, and training to newborn screening programs and assist states with quality improvement initiatives. It functions with the goal of improving outcomes for newborns by facilitating newborn screening initiatives and programmatic outcomes to improve the overall quality of the newborn screening system.

97%

of the nearly four million newborns born in the United States each year are screened by public health laboratories for various genetic disorders.

Newborn screening is a state public health service intended to identify individuals in a population who may be at an increased risk of a certain disorder. It is recognized as the largest and most successful disease prevention system in the United States and saves or improves the lives of over 12,000 babies a year.

Vision

Dynamic newborn screening systems have access to and utilize accurate, relevant information to achieve and maintain excellence through continuous quality improvement.

Mission

To achieve the highest quality for newborn screening systems by providing relevant, accurate tools and resources and to facilitate collaboration between state programs and other newborn screening partners.

Contacts

Association of Public Health Laboratories

Senior Specialist, Newborn Screening and Genetics Funke Akinsola, MPH oluwafunke.akinsola@aphl.org
Senior Specialist, CQI Ashley Comer ashley.comer@aphl.org
Senior Specialist, New Disorders Kshea Hale, MPH kshea.hale@aphl.org
Director Jelili Ojodu, MPH jelili.ojodu@aphl.org
Data Manager, NewSTEPs Sarah McKasson Sarah.McKasson@aphl.org
Specialist, Newborn Screening and Genetics Dara Plath dara.plath@aphl.org
Manager, NewSTEPs Ruthanne Sheller, MPH ruthanne.sheller@aphl.org
Deputy Director Sikha Singh, MHS, PMP sikha.singh@aphl.org
Senior Specialist, Bioinformatics Courtney Sumby Courtney.Sumby@aphl.org
Data Sr. Specialist, NewSTEPs Cole Thompson john.thompson@aphl.org
Manager, Newborn Screening and Genetics Guisou Zarbalian, MS, MPH guisou.zarbalian@aphl.org

NewSTEPs Governance Chart

Governance Chart Created with Sketch. NewSTEPs NewSTEPs Steering Committee Continuous Quality Improvement Data Review New Disorders NBS and Genetics Short Term Follow Up HIT * HIT User Groups Sub- awardees Quality Improvement CCHD ASTHO ACMG March of Dimes NICHQ AMCHP Genetic Alliance
  • Committee
  • Partners
  • Program/CoAg
  • Workgroup
  • Sub-awardees
  • User Groups
  • Subcommittee
  • * Represented by both NewSTEPs & NBS and Genetics