About

The Newborn Screening Technical assistance and Evaluation Program (NewSTEPs) is a national newborn screening resource center designed to provide data, technical assistance, and training to newborn screening programs and assist states with quality improvement initiatives. It functions with the goal of improving outcomes for newborns by facilitating newborn screening initiatives and programmatic outcomes to improve the overall quality of the newborn screening system.

97%
of the more than four million newborns born in the United States each year are screened by public health laboratories for various genetic disorders.

Newborn screening is a state public health service intended to identify individuals in a population who may be at an increased risk of a certain disorder. It is recognized as the largest and most successful disease prevention system in the United States and saves or improves the lives of over 12,000 babies a year.

Vision

Dynamic newborn screening systems have access to and utilize accurate, relevant information to achieve and maintain excellence through continuous quality improvement.

Mission

To achieve the highest quality for newborn screening systems by providing relevant, accurate tools and resources and to facilitate collaboration between state programs and other newborn screening partners.

Contacts

Association of Public Health Laboratories

Senior Specialist Funke Akinsola, MPH oluwafunke.akinsola@aphl.org
Erin Darby
Senior Specialist Erin Darby, MPH, MCHES erin.darby@aphl.org
Specialist Hiral Desai, MS hiral.desai@aphl.org
Senior Specialist Sari Edelman, MPH sari.edelman@aphl.org
Senior Specialist, New Disorders Kshea Hale, MPH kshea.hale@aphl.org
Chenelle Norman
Manager Chenelle Norman, MPH chenelle.norman@aphl.org
Senior Specialist Trey Pigg trey.pigg@aphl.org
Director Jelili Ojodu, MPH jelili.ojodu@aphl.org
Senior Specialist Ruthanne Sheller, MPH ruthanne.sheller@aphl.org
Deputy Director Sikha Singh, MHS, PMP sikha.singh@aphl.org
Kayana Walters
Specialist Kayana Walters, MPH kayana.walters@aphl.org
Manager Careema Yusuf, MPH careema.yusuf@aphl.org
Manager Guisou Zarbalian, MS, MPH guisou.zarbalian@aphl.org
Associate Specialist Dara Plath dara.plath@aphl.org

NewSTEPs Governance Chart

Governance Chart Created with Sketch. NewSTEPs NewSTEPs Steering Committee Continuous Quality Improvement Data Review New Disorders NBS and Genetics Short Term Follow Up HIT * HIT User Groups Sub- awardees Quality Improvement CCHD ASTHO ACMG March of Dimes NICHQ AMCHP Genetic Alliance
  • Committee
  • Partners
  • Program/CoAg
  • Workgroup
  • Sub-awardees
  • User Groups
  • Subcommittee
  • * Represented by both NewSTEPs & NBS and Genetics